Clean Plate Club

I first heard those dreaded three words when I was a kid.

“You won’t get dessert if you don’t eat everything on your plate. Don’t you want to be a member of the Clean Plate Club?”

[“Well, since you’re asking, that would be a great big fat, ‘No.'”]

Clean Plate Club membership is the road to hell for any Finickie foodie.

We’d rather not eat what we don’t like, than force it down just to get some sugar that’s cleverly disguised as something edible.

Needless to say, I gave up lots of dessert.

I also learned – when in a desperate mood – to put food into my mouth, pretend to be eating it, then take it out of my mouth when no one was looking, and feed my dog who was standing under the table knowing that the fish was coming his way… Any fish…

He loved it all, and I hated it all. We were a perfect team… And we’d both get dessert (of our own making and design).

And what about forcing kids to eat more than they should for calories, that will then add on even more calories?

Maybe all these things contribute to a Finickie Foodie?

Comments are closed.